Friday, March 1, 2013

David Bowie's "The Next Day"

Second listening now, and I think its a superb album. The secret ingredient is the sax that sneaks up to you on various songs as well as the back-up vocals (Tony Visconti?). Also I love the textures of the different guitars weaving in and out. And then on top of all of that, you have Bowie's voice - which is still a remarkable instrument. This is iconic classic Bowie work. And the opening cuts "The Next Day" and "Dirty Boys" is sort of hold on to your hat, its going to be a wild ride. This is a very rich 'pop' record. Nothing new, but he's playing to all his strengths. And for that, he's incredible.

The Next Day tracklisting
01. The Next Day 3:51
02. Dirty Boys 2:58
03. The Stars (Are Out Tonight) 3:56
04. Love Is Lost 3:57
05. Where Are We Now? 4:08
06. Valentine's Day 3:01
07. If You Can See Me 3:16
08. I'd Rather Be High 3:53
09. Boss Of Me 4:09
10. Dancing Out In Space 3:24
11. How Does The Grass Grow 4:33
12. (You Will) Set The World On Fire 3:30
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die 4:41
14. Heat 4:25
Post a Comment